Beach House Kitchen – Sink Problems

I had the sink cabinet installed and ready to go – or so I thought…

Image 2016-07-03 - 1855

When I tried to put it in, it sat about 1/4″ too far forward. Nothing I could do would change it. I pulled it out and realized the back of the sink was cast at a slight angle. I built the cabinet at 24″, and it worked for the bottom but not the top. Lesson learned: don’t assume anything is straight.

So I had three options:

  • Take all cabinets on the wall out and shim them out 3/8″. The problem is that the oak top counter top I built wouldn’t work with that – I’d need to modify it as well.
  • Move just the sink cabinet out about an inch so maybe it would look like I planned it that way. I didn’t like it.
  • Cut a hole in the wall to allow the sink to go back just a bit. Five minutes later the hole was there.

Image 2016-07-03 - 1853

There are many tools I’m not too good with, but that doesn’t include saws. I like doing freehand work with a circular saw. The sink slid into the hole perfectly.

Image 2016-07-03 - 1856

I secured the sink in place with silicone, and it’s solid.

Image 2016-07-03 - 1854

I need to go back and put spray foam behind the sink to keep drafts out. Next task is to get the oak counters in.

 

Leave a comment